September Member Update

              The Fixed Income Investor Network’s Nominating Committee convened in early August with candidates to fill numerous openings in the Association’s Committees and Task Forces, see here.  The candidates were presented to the Executive Committee for consideration on August 11th and numerous appointments were made.

              The Education Committee was the largest contingent of appointments with 8 members added to the group.  The group is tasked with developing learning materials and content to enhance the knowledge base of the buy side. Several current officers of FIIN were posted to the group including Rob McDonough of Angel Oak Capital Advisors, Olga Chernova of Sancus Capital, and Joe Lau of Lord Capital.  FIIN Board Member Jade Friedensohn of IMN was also appointed.  Several candidates from outside the Association were recruited to join, including Haynes Gallagher of Medalist Partners, Mike Chaisanguanthum of CSAM, as well as a contingent from Hong Kong, Kingsley Ong and James Pedley, both of whom are on the Board of the Asian-Pacific Structured Finance Association.  The Education Committee convened their first meeting on August 27th

              The Editorial Review Committee, led by Vince Fiorillo, added fellow Board Member Tom Denkler of AIG, and Ann Rutledge of Credit Spectrum.

              FIIN also welcomed new member Wayne Hosang of Crescent Capital who was recruited by the Nominating Committee and appointed to fill a single vacancy on the Membership Committee.

              The Nominating Committee was also tasked with putting forth candidates to chair several Task Forces.  FIIN member Jack Ervasti of Global Atlantic Financial Group was appointed to chair the Consumer ABS Task Force.  Jack is a current member of FIIN and was involved with FIIN’s working groups set up in the Fall to address issues relating to the Covid-19 outbreak. 

              Eric Kaplan of the Milken Institute was recruited to join FIIN as an Associate Member and appointed to lead the Association’s mortgage efforts as chair of the RMBS Task Force.  The group expects to convene its first meeting at the end of September. 

              FIIN Board Member Brian Herr, also a member of the Nominating Committee, proposed that FIIN form a Task Force concerned with Private and Commercial ABS, and was subsequently appointed as Chair.  Several FIIN members volunteered to join the group when announced and the first meeting will be held on September 9th.

              The CLO Task Force will be chaired by Dan Wohlberg of Eagle Point.  Dan was actively involved with FIIN’s Covid-19 CLO working group in the Spring, and the group is set to meet on September 10th.

              FIIN’s ESG Task Force was formed early in 2020 and has met regularly, most recently to address the DOL’s recent rule change proposal (see  The Executive Committee appointed Rob McDonough as interim Chair until a permanent Chair can take the position.  The group most recently met on September 9th.  

              FIIN’s Task Forces are open to all members, so if you are interested to join please contact Dave Blide for more information: